After any kind of traffic accident that involves personal injury or property damage in Nashville, TN, you need to know your options for getting compensation. Every state has different laws, and having an understanding of Tennessee car accident laws can help you determine whether you will get compensated. You will also know if you can push for a lawsuit if the other party refuses to cooperate.
Here is a quick overview of Tennessee auto accident laws and important things you should know after being involved in an auto accident.
Tennessee Insurance Requirements
The state of Tennessee requires drivers to carry liability insurance in the following amounts to cover damages or injuries that you may cause to another person during a car accident:
- $25,000 for one injury or death
- $50,000 for total injuries or deaths in an accident
- $15,000 for property damage in a single accident
These are the minimum liability limits, and they are an indication of financial responsibility on the part of the driver. Due to these requirements, drivers have to deal with insurance companies that come in to offer compensation after an auto accident.
Fault and Liability
Under Tennessee law, compensation for damages is given by the driver who was at fault. Tennessee is an “at-fault” state, which means that the driver who bears the fault during the accident will pay for the damages, personal injury, or any wrongful death compensation. Therefore, the driver who is not at fault has a right to seek compensation and even file a lawsuit if the at-fault driver or their insurer fails to pay for the damages and injuries.
For starters, being “at-fault” for an accident means that you caused the accident to occur, either through an act of you own (like running into another vehicle) or failing to take an action. If you are the cause of the accident, it doesn’t matter whether you intended to do something—you will still be at fault.
After an accident, the person determining the fault will collect all evidence necessary to prove that one party is liable for the crash. The evidence collected includes witness accounts, police reports, evidence of non-compliance, and proof of reckless driving, including behavior such as driving under influence or driving while texting. Admission of guilt can also be used to determine fault.
Seeking Compensation after an Accident
If you have been involved in an auto accident in Nashville, it is essential for you to pursue compensation, especially if you weren’t at fault. The liable driver should pay for damages, injuries, or any death that may have resulted from the accident. However, in some cases, the compensation process isn’t as smooth as it sounds. The other driver can deny liability, and if there isn’t enough evidence, you need professional help to file a lawsuit. Find a Nashville auto collision lawyer so that they can help with the following:
- Prepare documentation required for the lawsuit
- File the lawsuit
- Gather all necessary evidence pertaining to the accident
- Push for rightful compensation for all the damages
Auto accidents can be minor with minimal damages or serious with multiple injuries or even deaths. Therefore, if you live in Tennessee, it is important to know what the law says so you can take the right measures after an accident. If you are the victim in a car crash, seek legal representation to ensure that you get your rightful compensation.